Never Go Back

Romans 6:17-19 NASB

But thanks be to God that though you were slaves of sin, you became obedient from the heart to that form of teaching to which you were committed,

and having been freed from sin, you became slaves of righteousness.

I am speaking in human terms because of the weakness of your flesh. For just as you presented your members as slaves to impurity and to lawlessness, resulting in further lawlessness, so now present your members as slaves to righteousness, resulting in sanctification.…

Many of you can relate to this one.

Wow!

I can truly say without a doubt that I would never go back to that place in my life, where all I saw was darkness.

I didn’t see a future.

I didn’t know where I was going to be the next day.

What will I eat?

What will I wear?

It was not because I had a lot.

No

It was because I didn’t have anything.

Some of you may not have had that kind of experience or maybe even a worse experience.

I knew I had no future

Death was the only thing certain in my life.

All the drugs and alcohol could not free me from the pain.

But, only I believing the Word and let it free me.

John 8:32

Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.”

I thought about death many times, but could not do it.

I was tormented by evil thoughts that clouded good or sound judgment.

I thought about my family and what my mother said, to love you’re self.

If no one does you must love yourself to want more out of life.

I was thinking of a way to stop the madness and loving myself was a good place to start.

Then I heard someone say to me; stop listening to myself,

Stop thinking about the past,

Keep the past in the past

Keep yourself pointed forward

Philippians 3:13 ISV

Brothers, I do not consider myself to have embraced it yet. But this one thing I do: Forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead,

Never go back

You need to focus on your future,

Everyone has a future rather good or bad.

Your future has been planned out for you.

Jeremiah 29:11 NIV

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

You just need to find out what that is.

But, its never where you came from.

Never go back.

Have faith and hope to start you out on the right path.

You are practicing faith by moving forward in life instead of moving or going backwards.

Leave the past in the past.

Never go back

Hope brings the challenge of believing in something you want and never giving up until it comes.

Never doubt and never give up, never surrender.

In God’s words he teaches us, if a person looks back then he doubts the future.

The bible talks’ about a person who goes back is like a dog returning to his own vomit.

Luke 9:62 NLT

But Jesus told him, “Anyone who puts a hand to the plow and then looks back is not fit for the Kingdom of God.”

Now, that’s something I don’t want to ever experience.

Never go back

We must also set aside things and people that hold us back from going forward.

Hebrews 12:1 ESV

Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us also lay aside every weight, and sin which clings so closely, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us,

This doesn’t matter whether it’s a family or friends.

Abraham was told by God to leave his family, friends and land so that he would become the father of many nations.

That is all of us.

Your life is too important.

He took God at his word and he became very blessed.

Don’t worry about your family you left behind.

God will send someone to save them or he will send you back when its time to return, but for now keep looking toward your future.

Never go back

Things you use to do, you won’t do them anymore.

People you use to hang out with, you won’t anymore.

A better life awaits you.

Better friends that care about you.

They will lift you up and never let you down.

They will be on board with the plans that God has given you.

The word says to keep your eyes on the prize for the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.

Never go back.

Your future looks better than your past.

The end

Psalms for Life: “The Pocket Guide to Successful Living in Christ Jesus”

One thought on “Never Go Back

Leave a Reply

